Uncategorized

The Final Day

I’ve made no secret that I’ve never really liked my day job but there is one thing that can be said about me. I’m pretty damn good at it. It doesn’t take much skill, you smile, you get people their drinks and you make conversation. If anyone is thinking something else, because it sounds like I’m a hostess or something, I work in a bar. Which sounds a little less interesting.

I’ve worked here for nearly seven years. Friends have come and gone, and besides a lovely lady called Lynda, I think I’m one of the longest running members of staff. It’s a scary thought. I’ve been here so long that it’s like I’m apart of the scenery.

Then six months ago I hurt my back. The doctors called it a serious sprain of the middle and lower parts of my back. I saw a chiropractor, someone from the spinal assessment unit and got referred to the pain clinic. I even took three months off. I did everything I could think of to help the healing process and what did it get me?

Bugger all.

So I went back to work two months ago. It was coming up to Christmas, I had to think of presents for everyone and I thought, what the hell. I’ll give it my best go.

Now we get to today. Last Sunday I came in and handed in my notice. Today is my last ever shift in this place. It’s a scary thought. I don’t have a job to jump into and I’ll be searching for freelance work. I remember an episode of Friends (don’t worry this is actually linked in with my blog) Rachel had been working in a coffee shop, and Chandler and Joey were talking about the fear. The fear of the unknown. She quit her job and tried to find something that she loved to do.

See how that links in? It’s not very clever but I haven’t been awake for long.

I could spend the rest of my life in this job. They might end up burying me in the cellar. A friend of mine told me that she didn’t want me to leave. That she was thinking of chaining me up in the cellar and leaving me in there with one of our annoying customers. You know, as punishment, until I cracked and decided to stay. What can I say I have some weird friends.

I think I need the fear. If I hadn’t hurt my back I probably wouldn’t be quitting. I’d continue to write but I might not have the drive to go and get what I want. This way I don’t have the choice. If I don’t write and pursue it hard, then the only person I’d have to blame is myself. Besides my son, husband, dog and cat. I have no distractions from the keyboard.

Well thanks for reading. I’m finally getting internet at home on Monday. There isn’t any reason why I can’t keep this updated more regularly.

Hope you have a good Wednesday.

Oh, and I’m also going to do the lottery tonight. It wouldn’t hurt to give it a try. Who knows maybe I’ll get lucky.

2 thoughts on “The Final Day

Leave a Reply

