Uncategorized

The Joy of 3D? Or watching Underworld: Awakening.

Recently I watched Underworld: Awakening. I’ve never been a great fan of the series. Mostly it’s just Kate Beckinsale pouting, a lot. I can’t help but think that if the character had a few witty comebacks, or cracked a smile once and awhile, it would be a much better series.

Anyway back to the point. I’ve never watched a 3D movie, so in retrospect I was popping my 3D cherry on this film.

To be honest it was disorientating and jarring. If you relaxed your eyes, you could clearly see a back, middle and front section on screen.

You could see why the director was filming this film this particular way. Some of the 3D worked beautifully, you could almost see the rubble flying out of the scene. The moment when the giant Lycan appears makes you jump out of your seat. Well at least it made me jump.

Some scenes felt deliberate. As if the director was thinking, what would be the perfect to showcase our use of 3D? Those scenes felt false and staged.

So all in all, I should have held out for Avatar in 3D.

One thought on “The Joy of 3D? Or watching Underworld: Awakening.

Leave a Reply

