Uncategorized

An Insight into Ella Grey

The wonderfully talented Angela Addams messaged me over the weekend and asked if I wanted to talk part in an interview. The best way to describe it is a chain letter, one writer tags in two other writers and all of us answer the same questions. I’m pretty sure that it won’t result in a thousand years of bad luck if you don’t participate but it’s interesting to find out how other writers approach the questions given.

Make sure to check out Angela’s answers http://www.blog.angelaaddams.com/
Next stop on the chain is Jessica Jayne. http://www.jessicajayneauthor.com

So here are mine.

Questions:

What are you working on right now?

The better question would be what am I not working on right now but for the sake of space I’ll give you one. I’m currently working on a sequel to Saving Kat, called Guarding Mari. It’s about a doctor who gets infected with the werewolf virus and the man who protects her. It’s the second in my ‘Black Paw Pack’ series for Decadent Publishing’s Tease line.

How does it differ from other works in its genre?

It’s written by me? It isn’t the first werewolf story I’ve written. I first wrote ‘A Difficult Decision’ a YA eshort series which featured werewolves. The ‘Black Paw Pack’ stories are strictly romance with a healthy dose of drama through in. They have incredibly fun to write and I’m looking forward to writing more.

What experiences have influenced you?

In this or in writing in general? I’m trying to grow as a writer, sometimes that can be incredibly hard since a writer writes what they know. I use my imagination a lot, thankfully I have an active imagination and the ability to overthink things. The last one is a bit of a mixed blessing.

Why do you write what you do?

I’ve experimented with a few different genres but one that I always seem to come back to is paranormal. My first story was about a fire witch called Molly O’Brien, the second was about werewolves and then I did steampunk. Then I tackled adult fiction. Now back to werewolves and other things that I can’t get into just yet. I was the generation who watched Buffy and Charmed for the first time. I’ve always liked magic and the unknown.

How does your writing process work?

write, write and then write some more. I have a small boy who I affectionally call little monster, so I write when he’s in bed or nursery.

What is the hardest part about writing?

Finishing. I have a few wips on my hard drive that might never be finished but the stories that I’ve had published out number them.

What would you like to try as a writer that you haven’t yet?

A full length novel and a box in print.

Who are the authors you most admire?

That’s a hard question to answer. There are so many great writers out there. The bigger ones would be Stephen King and Terry Pratchett. Smaller ones, as in the ones with smaller publishers would be Stacey Kennedy and Mina Carter.

Who are new authors to watch out for?

Damn, another hard question. You really don’t make it easy, do you? I don’t know many new, new writers. Nikki Prince is a good writer, doing fairy tale retellings for Evernight’s Naughty Fairytale line at the moment or Lola Drake, ‘In Pursuit of Love’ is mentioned on my blog and is well worth a read.

What scares you?

This might sound a little silly. I was asked once, what would you prefer, going blind or deaf? Not being able to hear doesn’t scare me. I would be scared of losing my sight.

Leave a Reply

