Uncategorized

The Joy of Edits and Why it’s an Essential Step

Edits are a necessary part of the writing process. I’ve been a published writer for three years now so I know this lesson very well. The job of an editor is to work alongside the writer, to see the story in front of them and know how to polish it until it’s shines and make suggestions to make it stronger. This process is different for every publishing house, some go through several edits and a line edit, some don’t. Some have several people go over the story and others don’t, there is truth in the saying that fresh eyes are a must. Okay, that isn’t an actually saying but it’s the truth. 

I read a blog post by Jenny Hilbourne (http://jfhilborne.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/dont-make-others-pay/) recently saying that you have to get to the point when the idea of looking at the story, yet again makes you want to pull out your hair. I reached that point with my paranormal romance ‘Saving Kat.’ a few days ago. Now don’t get me wrong, I love this story. I think that it’s one of the best ones I’ve written but I can safely say, with my hand on my heart, that it needed the editors suggestions. It needed the fresh pair of eyes and the suggestions that made a strong story even stronger. If you’re a newbie, or unpublished or maybe you’re considering self-publishing. This step is essential. None of us are perfect and we all miss something that someone else will catch.

Jenny Hilbourne’s latest release. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Stone-Cold-Jenny-Hilborne/dp/0615778763/ref=sr_1_sc_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1379102919&sr=8-3-spell&keywords=jenny+hilbourne

Leave a Reply

