Uncategorized

Doctor Who 50th Anniversity Anthology: Review

One of my bedtime routines with my son, after all the boring stuff, like brushing his teeth and washing his face, is to read him a story. I have to admit with my workload I don’t get much time to read stories myself, generally keeping to short stories. This ritual with my son has opened my eyes to many different stories and I’m more likely to read books aimed at kids these days.

The last story I read for Nathan was Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl and the Artic Incident. I enjoyed reading and it stuck in my son’s mind. When we finished that one he asked for more stories about the thirteen year old criminal mastermind. Yesterday we went to the library and just my luck I couldn’t find anymore in the series. I even checked the charity shops, because I wouldn’t mind buying them, especially if Nathan likes reading when he’s older. I was just about to call it quits when I saw a silvery book on the shelf. A Doctor Who Anthology. I’m not a hard-core Whovian but I do watch the series, read the occasional comic and book (also wouldn’t mind writing one myself) but Nathan knows Doctor Who and the first writer was Eoin Colfer, which was enough to sway Nathan into letting this be his bedtime read.

Each Doctor has an story in the anthology and they got a great selection of writers to do it, barring two I know of all of them. I’m looking forward to reading Derek Landy (Skulduggery Pleasant Series) and Neil Gaiman’s stories, who are writing the tenth and eleventh Doctors.

The First Doctor: A Big Hand for the Doctor. It was a clever story, unfortunately I saw the twist coming before the reveal. This story’s intended audience is probably for kids, around 12 years old. So for them they might not see the twist until the epilogue. I won’t give it away just in case you want to read the story for yourself. The world building was interesting, set in Victorian England and the story featured Soul Pirates, not the brightest brunch but with a lot of funny names, like Igby and Gomb, which I’m sure Nathan will pop into a sentence at some point this week. It also had the Doctor’s granddaughter, Susan in it.

In total I would give this story 3.5. There were a lot of long sentences which didn’t make reading it out loud easy but it’s a worthy addition to the world of Who.

I’ll post a review for the second story on Friday.

Leave a Reply

