Uncategorized

Midweek Tease: Guitars and Cupcakes

I’m posting a snippet from my current wip, which I hope to finish and submit this week. Clara Collins has a past she’s desperate to forget, James reminds her of what hurt her but he isn’t her ex. A mechanic who plays the guitar on the weekends, James is intrigued by the redhead who makes the sweetest cupcakes.

He slipped off his leather jacket. “I’m going to help you replace the biscuits you lost. It’s the least I can do.” She looked tore. Clara didn’t want him to stay that much was obvious but he couldn’t just leave her to clean up when it was his fault. James smiled at her. “Come on, free labour right here. Do I have to beg before you let me?”
A laugh escaped her and the last of the tension left her body. “Yeah, you don’t strike me as someone who begs.”
“That’s true, but I’m not leaving until I help you replace what got broken.” He folded his arms across his chest, he meant business.
Clara studied him for a second before she leaned across the counter and picked up a pale green folder. James watched as she flipped through the clear plastic covered papers and stopped when she came to the page she’d been looking for. She reached between the sheets and handed it to him. “Okay, if you’re so determined to help, follow these instruction.” Her eyes narrowed. “Exactly. I’ll taste one when their done before putting them on sale.” Clara paused. “I’ve got to sort out the till.” She made her way passed him and James glanced down at the recipe in his hand. “Remember to wash your hands.”

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “Midweek Tease: Guitars and Cupcakes

  1. Hi Ella! This got a real smile out of me. β€œI’m going to help you replace the biscuits you lost. It’s the least I can do.” I think I remember a line of Henry Cavill’s from The Tudors and he said something about sending a sailor off to sea without his biscuit. Anyhow, great tease and looking forward to more.

    1. Thanks, I’m hoping to have it finished tomorrow, go over it and submit it by Monday πŸ™‚ James has certainly been the sweetest hero I’ve written, a tattooed gentleman

Leave a Reply

